International Girl Gang Underground zine (2011)

Are you mad at me? I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to be away so long.

It’s just that I’ve been really caught up launching the International Girl Gang Underground compilation zine, co-edited by Kate Wadkins. It’s been a frigging dream come true! I’m really proud of it, and I’ve been putting a majority of my extracurricular energy into the debut and into plotting next moves.

Fantastic writers and artists like OSA ATOE (Shotgun Seamstress), HADASS BEN-ARI (Fallopian Falafel – אשת חיל), CARLA DUARTE (Histérica), BILLY CHEER (This is Fag City), KATIE CRUTCHFIELD (P.S. Eliot, Bad Banana), LO (HEARTSREVOLUTION), and MIMI THI NGUYEN (Evolution of a Race Riot, Punk Planet) contributed. We’ve seen interest and support from folks all over the globe (even Kathleen Hanna). And there’s talk of expanding the scope to make IGGU zine into a global diy feminisms empire. (Kidding–Sort of.)

So, I hope you’ll forgive me that I’ve been a bit distracted.

I also hope you’ll visit girlgangunderground.org to keep up with developments, and maybe even to buy the zine. (We’ll be releasing the zine in a digital edition soon, but you should get your paws on the print copy ASAP.) There’s also the ability to add to our Directory, and we’re still soliciting folks to review bands (hint hint).

I’ll return to semi-regular updates here soon. In the meantime, I’ll see you over at girlgangunderground.org!

This entry was posted in SOUL PONIES and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

