Altmetrics and analytics in IRs and digital libraries: where we’re at and where we’re going (upcoming LITA webinar)

On Tuesday at 2 pm, I’ll have the pleasure of speaking with members of the newly-formed LITA Altmetrics & Digital Analytics interest group about the white paper that I recently wrote with Michelle Dalmau (Indiana University) and Dave Scherer (Purdue University). Join us!

Here’s the webinar description:

Altmetrics and analytics in IRs and digital libraries: where we’re at and where we’re going
When: Tuesday, June 23, 2015 @ 2pm CST (3pm EST| 1pm MST| Noon PST)
Where: Online – https://bluejeans.com/164382960 [no registration necessary; just tune in on Tuesday!]

Description:
How are users engaging with your digital collections? What are people
saying about your university’s research on the social web? Just a few
years ago, the answers to these questions were virtually unknowable, but
nowadays a wealth of analytics services can help you learn the answers
quickly and easily. And soon, standards will enable cross-collection and
cross-institution comparisons that will allow for better benchmarking,
reporting, and more.

In this webinar, Stacy Konkiel (Research Metrics Consultant, Altmetric) will report on the results of a recent white
paper outlining best practices and important issues in using metrics to
understand the use of digital collections and institutional repository
content. Robin Chin Roemer (Instructional Design & Outreach Services
Librarian, University of Washington Libraries) will share how the
National Information Standards Organization (NISO) is shaping the future
of analytics services through the development of altmetrics standards.

Join us on Tuesday at 2 pm Central! https://bluejeans.com/164382960

Stacy Konkiel is a Research Metrics Consultant at Altmetric, a data
science company that tracks the attention that research receives online.
She has researched, published, and presented widely on scholarly
communication, research impact, and other issues in academic
librarianship.

Robin Chin Roemer is the Instructional Design & Outreach Services
Librarian at the University of Washington Libraries in Seattle,
Washington. She is the coauthor of the new book Meaningful Metrics: A
21st Librarian’s Guide to Bibliometrics, Altmetrics, & Research Impact
with ACRL Press.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Work & Research. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s